I Wouldn’t Change a Thing

by She's Alive

They say the past doesn’t exist, (whoever they are), and I’ve begun to acknowledge this as being true. Many people enjoy mulling over events that have happened “back-in-the-day”; needlessly poking at them, and worrying about their effects. They silently wish that they could go back and change things. “If only I could’ve done this differently. . .” they think. But what’s the use in that? If the power to travel back into time was handed to us, what would be the point in using it?

As of late, I’ve learned to envelope myself in present moments. The past has lost its luster to me, and I’ve grown quite tired of thinking about it. It seems senseless to clothe myself in events that are so distant. To weigh myself down with the thought that history might again repeat itself. To waste energy wishing and praying that I would have done something differently or said something louder.

Everything that happened is old news. Living in your past is a senseless act in my eyes. You wouldn’t dwell on a weather forecast from two years ago, would you? Absolutely not, because it has nothing to do with the weather right now. Right now, you’re missing a sunny day just because you’re fretting over a storm from back then. You can’t appreciate the slightly warm breeze, or the birds happily chirping. You’re stuck worrying over things that could’ve been, but that’s just the thing. They could’ve been, but they weren’t, and that’s a very necessary distinction.

Aspects of your past will remain as they are. There’s no way to change them. No matter how hard you try and destroy them, you’ll never reach them–you won’t get anywhere close to them. Those events are gone; they’ve done their duty. Right now, you should be focused on right now.